Community Preservation Committee

CPC Project Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. The committee will review and provide guidance in conjunction with upcoming Town Meeting deadlines. 

Program and Plan

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Robin Steele, Recreation Commission Member
    Term Expires: 2026
  • Christina Wilgren, Bedford Housing Partnership Member
    Term Expires: 2026
  • Margot R. Fleischman, Select Board Member
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Lauren Crews, Housing Authority Member
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Lee Vorderer, Chair, At-Large
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Erin Dorr, Vice-Chair, At-Large
    Term Expires: 2026
  • Steven Hagan, Conservation Commission Member
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Chris Gittins, Planning Board Member
    Term Expires: 2024
  • David Goldbaum, Historic Preservation Commission Member
    Term Expires: 2025



The Community Preservation Committee shall consist of nine members appointed by the Select Board for staggered three-year terms. One member each from the:

  • Conservation Commission
  • Historic Preservation Commission
  • Planning Board
  • Select Board (acting as Park Commissioners)
  • Housing Partnership
  • Recreation Commission
  • Housing Authority

shall be required.


The Community Preservation Committee shall perform duties required of the committee as outlined in Section 5 of the Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 44B, including the study of community preservation needs, communicating with other municipal boards and committees, holding public informational hearings, and making funding recommendations to Town Meeting.

Bedford became the first community to pass the Community Preservation Act (CPA). This program creates a surcharge on property taxes and allows us to get matching funds for open spaces, affordable housing and historic preservation. The money must be divided among projects having to do with open space, affordable housing and historic preservation. At least 10% of the money must be spent on each of those types of projects, and the balance is spent per the determination of the Community Preservation Committee.

Bedford chose to pass the 3% surcharge. This means that for the assessed value of your house above $100,000 you pay an additional 3% of your tax bill (not your tax rate). The surcharge is assessed on the real estate tax bill. The surcharge will appear on the four-quarter bills. The first two-quarter bills will represent a preliminary surcharge amount based on the previous years valuation less $100,000 exemption. The 3rd and 4th quarter bills will be based on the current fiscal year valuation less $100,000 exemption, less amount paid in the first two quarters. The resulting amount will be split between the 3rd and 4th quarter bills. This money is then pooled together and matched by the state. Surcharges not paid by the due date will accrue interest at 14% computed in the same manner as overdue property taxes.

There are exceptions from the CPA for people with limited incomes. For more information please contact the Assessor's office.