Patriotic Holiday Committee

Next Meeting for the Patriotic Holiday Committee:

Thursday October 12, 2023 7:00PM-Send Floor Meeting Room

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Peter Ricci, Chair 
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Joseph Piantedosi, Vice Chair
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Roberta M. Ennis
    Term Expires: 2025
  • James Burton
    Term Expires: 2026
  • John Monahan
    Term Expires: 2025
  • John Cooper
    Term Expires: 2026
  • John Pecora                                           Term Expires: 2026
  • Paul Purchia                                           Term Expires: 2024
  • Barbara Purchia, Secretary
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Bopha Malone, Select Board Liaison (Non-Voting)
  • Bill Linnehan, Veterans Service Officer (Non-Voting)
  • Ken Mierz, Bedford HS Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (Non-Voting)
  • Al Chisholm, VFW Commander (Non-Voting)
  • Rob Bowes, American Legion Commander (Non-Voting)


The Patriotic Holiday Committee's primary focus is planning town ceremonies for Memorial Day, Veterans Day, and other patriotic holidays and events with a focus on recognizing Veterans of the U.S. Armed Services. The committee provides advice and recommendations to the Select Board concerning town-owned veterans' memorials on the Town Common and Veterans Memorial Park, including any proposed changes and/or additions to these memorials. When appropriate, the committee also uses its best efforts to recognize and promote the contributions and sacrifices made by our Veterans.

The Patriotic Holiday Committee consists of nine volunteer members appointed by the Select Board and 4 non-voting members representing:

  • Veterans Service Officer (VSO)
  • American Legion (AL)
  • Veterans of Foreign War (VFW)
  • Bedford High School Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (JROTC)

Related Documents