About the COA

The Bedford Council on Aging is a department of the Town of Bedford. Its mission is to enhance the health and well being of Bedford's 3,619 residents 60 and older. Our programs and services benefit active residents who have just retired and seek new opportunities, those who have been retired many years, those who need assistance remaining in their homes, and many, many others.

  • Bedford residents 60 and older are eligible for all services and activities
  • All Bedford residents are eligible for assistance with elder service coordination for themselves, their family members, or others.
  • Younger Bedford residents may attend Council on Aging activities, classes, and trips on a space available basis.
  • All programs and services are offered free except for classes, trips, and some workshops.

The Bedford Council on Aging is funded through the Town, public and private grants, program fees, and individual donations and bequests.

The Council On Aging Board consists of nine members, who are appointed by the Town's Board of Selectmen. The Chair of the Council On Aging Board is Allan E. Morgan and its Secretary is Rosemary Dyer. Other members of the COA Board: Vito LaMura, Vice Chair, Lenore Dichard, Luigi DiNapoli, Vito LaMura, Roberta Ennis, Emily Pruyn, Lewis Putney and Pauline Salter. The Planning Board Liason is Sandra Hackman and the Selectman Liason is William Moonan.

Click here for information about COA Staff


The COA is fully accessible with handicapped parking, elevator, ramp to meal and program rooms and 6 accessible bathrooms.